The ‘Best’ Beers of 2020 – Is It Over Yet?

Honestly, I’m not even sure how I can even begin breaking down the year that’s been. But I’ll try. Beer seems pretty insignificant right now. We started out in January with the entire continent of Australia being on fire. Then Kobe Bryant and his daughter died in a helicopter crash. Shortly after that, America – and the rest of the world – were under the deadly squeeze of a pandemic. Yeah, a fucking literal pandemic! 315,000 (and counting) Americans are no longer here with us – that’s messed up. So now people (at least the ones who aren’t selfish) will wear masks, socially distance, and wash hands until who knows when. Add on top of that – the never-ending bullshit political nonsense nearly every single day for the last 1,400 days. We’re subjected to shocking ineptitude’s of botched, broken government on the daily. We continue to turn a blind eye to our country that still hasn’t reckoned with the fact that the nation was built on the backs of slaves more than 400 years ago. Socioeconomic wealth gaps. Blatant racism and constant injustices. People are hurting in unimaginable excruciating ways, people are *DYING* in ways they shouldn’t, everything sucks, and we’re all alone…together. Shit is hard right now. Personally I’m exhausted to the point where I’m not sure there’s a word to describe my level of exhaustion. Everyone’s in the same rickety boat, nobody likes anything, and it’s extremely difficult to find the positives. But they are there. You just have to break beyond the wall of despair and see the good. I have to remind myself of it all the time. And I know it’s tough – but realize that we all are going through this at the same time and feeling the same garbage together. No one’s got the answers on how to navigate this – we haven’t done this since 1918 (right?) – so be nice and forgiving in the meantime. Anyways. I know my 6 fans didn’t come here to read a ‘woke’ piece on why everything sucks – you came here escape the dim work/life and to browse over beers I thought were significant in this god-forsaken calendar year. But while we’re on the topic, please drink in moderation because getting hooked on the sauce is bad for your health and can make you perish prematurely. It’s true – even our vices that give us temporary escape can shave time off our ticker. Which is why we go all-in and start dabbling in the world of Tiki drinks (obligatory, non-sponsored tiki content). Oh, that was just me? Got it. But if it’s not safe to ‘go out’, many of us took measures into our own hands and brought the home bar back. I think one of the worst parts of this year is watching our favorite watering holes die a slow, sad demise by no fault of their own. Why bars and restaurants continue to be the scapegoat for the spread, while simultaneously having to adapt and change capacities and safety protocols drives me mad. The entire industry has been taken for granted as if they don’t matter, which is odd given the cultural norms of drinking in Wisconsin. Sigh. Again, I could go on forever about a slew of topics that have enraged me, but instead – LET’S GET DOWN TO IT, WE GOT ADVERTISERS TO PLEASE:

Bell’s 35th Anniversary Expedition
How does one perfect an already perfect base imperial stout? Well, throw some stuff at it because of (Larry) Bells’ brewery birthday. I’m a huge fan of the unpretentious Expo, always bringing us robust layers of roast, bakers chocolate, and hints of bitterness. The 35th anniversary version amped up the abv to 11.5%, and slight nudges of anise, licorice, and earthiness are the main nuances I noticed. This almost felt like a blend of an imperial stout with a foreign extra stout. Bottles disappeared relatively quick after making their way to shelves; I’m still on the hunt for another.

Vennture Night Crew V02 (J Henry Bourbon Barrel) –
Washington Heights wizardry strikes again. With help from Dane, WI family distillers J Henry. Rich, complex, fun. So good that I bought two of them. The posse created a shockingly smooth stout that was worth every penny. Naturally, it rained on the release day, like it does during *EVERY* beer release here. At this point it’s part of the Vennture experience, so make sure to bring an umbrella or a poncho, grab a coffee, some baked goods, and some to-go cans at my favorite local libation factory. The alderman is in!

Lions Tail Bourbon Trail (Buffalo Trace Double Barrel) –
Neenah throwing heat. While Juice Cloud continues to get deserving accolades, their barrel program seems to be taking off as well. And with continued fresh drops to my local Milwaukee bottle shops, the Fox Valley fire is welcomed with open hands. Happy anniversary Lions Tail – the brewery put out 5 (?) different barrel aged beauties in 12oz cans this November, and I was lucky enough to try the Kentucky Coffee and the Double Barrel Buffalo Trace versions. That Double Barrel was expertly balanced, with ribbons of bourbon and dark chocolate rolling on the palate. I’m honestly surprised at the sudden onslaught of very good-to-great barrel programs popping up throughout the state. Keep an eye on the Lions Tail. (that’s good advice in real life too)

Jester King Atrial Rubicite (Blend 10 – April 2020) –
An incredible taste/visual experience. Out of the bottle, it’s impossibly lively, carbonated and prickly in the throat. As it warms, it becomes a sweet, jammy concoction reminiscent of Langers juice. Transcendental liquid, tiptoeing the stratosphere of wild ales and fruit beer bangers. This is a perfect beverage and will guarantee a perfect experience as long as you find someone to send you one. Jester King tops my bucket list of breweries to visit when things settle down. It’ll happen one day. And when it does, expect a 10-part blog post showcasing them. Currently obsessing over finding America’s greatest farm breweries, which is probably poor for my psyche. I dream of drinking Jester King Saisons while feasting on their house-made sourdough bread as adorable baby goats jump around me in the Texas countryside. A man can dream. A man WILL dream.

Austin Beerworks Black Thunder
Speaking of Texas. Here’s an everyday black lager your dad will love. Hell, your mom might love it too. Roasty, clean, dry, and impossibly genuine. Beer doesn’t have to be rare to be good. Gentle reminder (as I smash you in the face with a cost-per-ounce hammer). This comes out in October, so only 10 more months til we meet again. May the Schwarz be with you in the meantime.

Black Is Beautiful Series
I had an entire post at the ready (really, I promise!) highlighting the Black Is Beautiful series, and in turn – the BLM movement in itself. But it’s not really my story to tell. And this really isn’t the place for it. Also, and more importantly – I’d probably do a shit job of covering it accurately. Alas, I really enjoyed 3 local breweries take on the Weathered Souls brewing shared recipe: Vennture, Third Space, and Company Brewing. Profits from can sales were donated to African American Chamber of Commerce of WI by Vennture, and to BLOC (Black Leaders Organizing Communities) by Third Space and Company. Following the AllTogether series of beers, (which, if you remember, aimed to center community support around local breweries in a time where taprooms really couldn’t operate effectively) originated from NY’s Other Half (which I’m happy to see as many fresh drops that our market will allow), the BiB brews brought more camaraderie to the industry that could certainly use a little (read: a shit ton) more inclusion, especially when it comes to women and black & indigenous people of color. Beer unfortunately continues to be the old white boys club, but with some work and continued progress and programs, that can and will change. It’s up to us to see that change through, though. Personally I’d love to see more follow up on the Black Is Beautiful series, and what, if any, change it sparked within cities or the brewing industry as a whole. I’m sure Bob Pease is on it.

Sierra Nevada Celebration ‘Fresh Hop IPA’
The fact that a beer this good is nationally available for almost any of us to get in the fall is just ridiculous. A beer that smells, and tastes, of the west coast IPA’s of yore. Piney, resinous excellence. A beer that signifies that the holidays are upon us. You can almost taste the amount of care that goes into it. I know that sounds stupid, trust me I do. Sierra’s quality continues to be unrivaled. We’re spoiled that this beer exists. We’re all better because they continue to make us beer. Drink their beer. They’ve certainly earned our trust. (Furthermore, release Ruthless Rye again, you cowards!)

New Glarus Hometown Blonde
A Green County, WI exclusive, this bright, effervescent pilsner found my gullet A LOT this Fall. The straw color sparkles brilliantly in the glass, the foamy head resembles freshly baked bread. It’s just a pilsner, but it’s also not just a pilsner.

Tired Hands Ouriserva
So, the hazy triple hop IPA and pumpkin spice cinnamon pastry stout bois from the northeast can brew a Saison, you say? Yeah. Aged in white wine barrels, and further conditioned in the bottle, the end result was equal parts soft and sexy. SiL / #BelieveInSaison et cetera. I think this may have been a 2019 release, but it found my house in 2020. Funky luxury ya’ll.

Keeping Together At The Still Point of the Turning World
Formerly of Jester King, lady Averie Swanson is putting out perfection in Chicago, with the help of Half Acre’s equipment. And I can see why Half Acre allows her to use it, even though her beer names do sound a lot like a Fall Out Boy song title. Buckwheat and rye, fruity and funky, light tea and peppercorn – this beer was extravagant and delightfully complex. It’s always fun when you can’t figure out exactly what you’re tasting because there’s so much going on. Not in a muddy way, in an amazing way. Go to Chicago and get some. You will not be disappointed.

Revolution SuperMassive Cafe Deth
Talk about an epipen injection of caffeine through your sternum. This shit had me wired for hours, wiggling, jiggling, the cacao and roasted coffee percolating within my small intestines. A boozy espresso death wish; I felt like I drank 4 cups of coffee at once via beer bong. I’m a huge fan of the entire Deth (stout) series – their Deep Woods releases have me perpetually intrigued, even with the outrageous price points. But the liquid is good, and if that’s the case, then I swipe the credit card and cry at the statement later. It’s easier to ask for forgiveness than to get permission sometimes. And if we’re being honest here (which we are, this is on the record and I’ve taken a polygraph), the entire Deep Woods series could make the top 10. Stupid expensive but stupid good. That barrel program is dialed in. And Rev’s description is about as accurate as can be: “Not coffee beer – coffee, beer.” Well said.

Allagash White
You don’t get a description, or justification. Just be happy that Allagash is finally distributing here. Hey, there’s a positive in the pandemic – inventory at breweries that makes them send it to places they might otherwise not. Gladly, ‘Gash. Gladly. Again – just waiting on you, Firestone Walker…

Revolution Straightjacket
Barleywine that art in heaven, boozy be thy nose. Bourbon tuns, I will be done….etc. Strap on the velour pajama Straightjacket and lean into an out of body experience. Break out the leather upholstered high-back chair, your finest Persian rug, and your grandfathers brandy snifter. While you’re at it, clear your calendar the next day – this smooth 14%er will have you sipping caramel-molasses-vibes next to your non-existent fireplace as you contemplate why your in-laws think you aren’t good enough for their spawn. Why yes, I am drinking while writing this, why do you ask?

Side Project Cassis Du Fermier Saison (Blend 2) –
Worth the price, worth the hype, worth drinking an entire bottle at the source near St Louis if you must. I must not, but thanks to good friends, bottles of this pure perfection sometimes make their way to these Lake Michigan shores. Nobody makes American Saisons better than Side Project (Change my mind table guy.jpeg). One of the best, if not the best, barrel programs in the country. I would assume this is why people live in Missouri or southern Illinois. Otherwise why would one subject themselves to such conditions?

Allagash Nancy
Maine. I was supposed to be inside of you this September, but a virus changed it all. How cruel, unusual, and unserendipitous. Nancy danced with me via a beer trade, and the note was half sour, half stainless, all cherry funk. Fun, more tart than sweet. Cherries are my fruit beer of choice; whether they reveal themselves to be more fruity or more tart, I don’t care. These stemmed beings are simply meant for beer. I typically don’t love Brett in my beer, but this was very nice.

Perennial Prodigal
I feel like nobody gives a shit about Perennial anymore. Why is this? No really, I want to know. The stout within the vessel (cans, now!) is straight fudge, heavy malted milk ball body, light roast. And criminally underrated. I know I sound like a broken record, as it made my list last year, but I really enjoy the no nonsense approach to the beer. It’s a solid 11%er with a little vanilla and cacao thrown in for good measure. It’s just a really nice stout. Normally Abraxas would take the cake, but for whatever reason, that brand seems to have been dialed back. Or maybe the bottle is just too expensive for me these days. Cost per ounce is a thing, people. And some of you should be more picky about your purchases. I’m not talking about you, but I AM talking about YOU (points behind you).

New Glarus Kid Kolsch
I can’t count how many I ingested this summer. Was it 50? I don’t know. Probably. Is there a better Kolsch-style made in the Midwest? I also don’t know. This needs to be canned, yesterday. A stunning summer crusher, and a great grilling beer. Light yet flavorful.

Half Acre Bodem
What flawless volcano insignia do we have here? 12oz cans? Check. 16oz cans? Check. Tap beer at your favorite local watering hole, where a barstool weeps to be used? Check. Crack open an ice cold Bodem and watch your troubles wash away in the tragically proportionate nectar. Equally juicy & bitter, Bodem balances the line between hype and history. A swig will show mango and pineapple puree one minute, then hoppy pine & grapefruit tang the next thanks to generous additions of Idaho 7, Mosaic Cryo, and everyone’s favorite hop: Cashmere sweater. It’s soft and sexy, and I’ll never stop loving the shit out of it. It’s everything I want in an IPA, and nothing more. Easily my favorite beer of the year, and one I continue to go back to. In the endless array of beer coolers, Bodem continues to stand out on its own.




Thank you for reading. Go easy on yourself and be kind to others. Better days are on the horizon.

About Wisconsuds

You'll read news, reviews and opinions on the current state of craft beer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment